The Martyr’s Manifesto

Don’t dream too deeply

Don’t get carried away

The dark will come soon

Don’t be brave, darling

Don’t attempt to light the way

I swallow the moon

 

Dance

Flutter, fly, feel

And I will break you

I will

Dance

Till you believe it’s real

And I will break you

I will

 

Lie still in your bed

Know your place and don’t forget

Silence is golden

Follow all the rules

You’re not brilliant yet

But you are beholden

 

Dance

Your sad little death throes

And I will break you

I will

Dance

Because this is how it goes

And I will break you

I will shame you

I will own you

I will

Leave a Reply

